Senate Committee Convenes Hearing on Drugs in Racing

July 11, 2012

AQHA Racing

The interests of the American Quarter Horse industry will be well represented tomorrow when the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation convenes a hearing on “Medication and Performance Enhancing Drugs in Horse Racing.”

AQHA Racing Council Chair Matt Witman of Lazy E Ranch at Guthrie, Oklahoma, is scheduled to testify before the committee. Also in attendance will be Tom Persechino, AQHA executive director of competition, and Trey Buck, AQHA executive director of racing.

The Senate committee opens its hearing at 2 p.m. EDT Thursday, July 12. The hearing will be webcast live via the Senate Commerce Committee
website www.commerce.senate.gov. Refresh the Commerce Committee homepage 10 minutes prior to the scheduled start time to automatically begin streaming the webcast.

The link below will take you directly to the Senate hearing on medication and performance enhancing drugs in horse racing at 2 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. Central or 11 a.m. Pacific Thursday.

http://commerce.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=Hearings&ContentRecord_id=962520f8-4154-444a-b555-f5a2bc9da2ab