The AQHA Office is closed Monday, September 7, in observance of Labor Day.

One Famous Eagle Breaks All Time Freshman Sire Record

October 22, 2012

One Famous Eagle

One Famous Eagle has broken the all-time earnings record for a freshman sire set more than two decades ago by First Down Dash.

Through this weekend, One Famous Eagle has sired the earners of $2,378,819. For all of 1991, First Down Dash sired the earners of $2,361,652.

A 7-year-old son of champion Mr Jess Perry out of the stakes-placed and Grade 1-qualified Chicks Beduino mare One Famous Lady ($172,515), One Famous Eagle won seven of 11 races, including the Grade 1 Los Alamitos Two Million Futurity, Golden State Derby and Los Alamitos Super Derby, and also lit the board in Jess You And I’s Champion of Champions (G1). A career earner of $1,387,453, One Famous Eagle in 2008 was the champion sophomore colt. Bred by AQHA Second Vice President Johnny Trotter of Hereford, Texas, the stallion is owned by Trotter and Burnett Ranches, and stands at Burnett’s Four Sixes Ranch at Guthrie, Texas.

One Famous Eagle’s second dam is One Slick Cookie by Dash For Cash, the sire of First Down Dash. One Famous Eagle so far this year has been represented by Grade 1 All American Futurity and Ed Burke Million Futurity winner One Dashing Eagle ($1,628,405); Dash For Cash Futurity (G1) winner One Handsome Man ($176,774); and other stakes winners Dashaway Eagle ($23,534), Secretly Famous ($18,545) and One Famous Strawfly ($13,667). On Sunday evening at Los Alamitos, One Dashing Eagle set the fastest qualifying time to the November 4 Golden State Million Futurity (G1).

First Down Dash is the all-time leading sire, with progeny earnings of $78,698,374. The 1987 world champion and career earner of $857,256, First Down Dash as a freshman sire was represented by champion and All American Futurity winner Royal Quick Dash, Golden State Futurity (G1) winner Dash Ta Fame, Blue Ribbon Futurity winner (G1) First Down Kelly, graded stakes winner Rush Fora First Down, and other stakes winners IB Quick and Second Down Dash.