Starter Allowance Championship

Challenge | Derby | Juvenile | Distaff | Distance | Starter Allowance | Complete History


2013 Winner - Win Rabbits Fly

Fly Jess Fly-Break The Market by Spectacular Native
Owner - Miguel Banuelos
Breeder - Jackie L. Morgan (OK)
Trainer - Donald Davidson Jr.
Jockey - Francisco Rubio
Time - :17.513 (SI-91)

Win Rabbits Fly Takes Zoetis Challenge

Oklahoma invader Win Rabbits Fly made his first career start at Los Alamitos Race Course a winning one as the 4-year-old Fly Jess Fly gelding captured the $75,000 Zoetis Starter Allowance Challenge Championship on Saturday night as part of the Bank of America Challenge Championships. The race, which is not an official AQHA stakes, is for horses who started for a claiming price of $5,000 or less in the 12 months prior to the sustaining/late payment deadline for the regional races.

Ridden by Francisco Rubio for trainer Donald Davidson Jr. and owner Miguel Banuelos, Win Rabbits Fly battled for the lead from the rail and got his nose down on the wire in :17.513 for 350 yards. The gelding, who was claimed by Banuelos for $10,000 this past June at Fair Meadows in Tulsa, Oklahoma, came into the Zoestis Challenge having won four of his five starts for Banuelos, with two wins at Prairie Meadows and two at Will Rogers Downs including the Zoetis Will Rogers Starter Allowance Challenge. This victory was worth $34,500 and improved the Oklahoma-bred’s record to 18-8-1-3 with earnings of $97,269. Win Rabbits Fly was bred by Jackie Morgan.

“We claimed him at the last minute and qualified him at Will Rogers,” said Banuelos about his $10,000 purchase. “It feels good to win out here because we are so far away at Remington and Prairie Meadows.”

Luis Nunez’s Runaway Corky, a Los Alamitos-based runner who shipped to Alberta, Canada, and qualified with a win in the Zoetis Evergreen Starter Allowance Challenge, finished second, and Moonshine Racing’s Gallant Mystic, who raced in New Mexico, Idaho and California this year, got third.

Stakes History

Year      Winner              Owner              Trainer              Jockey              Purse     
Win Rabbits Fly
Miguel Banuelos
Donald Davidson Jr.
Francisco Rubio
Senor Fish Miguel Banuelos
Jose Aguiler
Jose Montoya
2011 Ocean Fun Estrada Edilberto Rafael Orozco Vicente Grajeda $75,000
2010  A Spring Snow  Abraham Jaquez      Abraham Jaquez  Esgar Ramirez  $75,000 
2009  Santispac  Danny S. Montes  Danny S. Montes    $75,000 
2008  Honor Me Good  Charles K. Morgan  Bill Hoburg  Saul Ramirez, Jr.  $75,000
2007  Eyesa Storm Too  Joaquin Lopez Dan Francisco  G.R. Carter, Jr.      $75,000 
2006  Speedy Injun  Harold Chenault  Eddie Willis  Larry Payne  $75,000 
2005  Hazels Last Pie  Monty Reynolds  Linda Godinez  Russell Hadley  $75,000 
2004 Katrina Duncan  Cedar Creek Ranch  Joseph Vacca  J.R. Ramirez  $75,000 
2003 Heza Cash Request  Stan Webb  Stan Webb  Eddie Garcia  $75,000 
2002 Streakin To Romance      Raul Rubalcava  Bobby Martinez  J.R. Ramirez  $50,000 
2001 Mister Ryon  TCB Stable  Russell Harris  G.R. Carter, Jr.  $50,000 
2000  Mr Franchise  Deborah Phillips  Steve VanBebber  Jacky Martin  $50,000
1999  Im Bredas Baby  Manuel Carmona  Rodney Hart  Jacky Martin  $50,000 
1998  Mr Clean Jeans  G. & S. Mickealian / J. Valentine      Joel Bauer  Eddie Garcia  $50,000 
1997  Fresh Red  T. Hays / R. Morales  Donna McArthur  Tami Purcell  $50,000 
1996  Bluyx  Rosenthal Ranch Trust  Blane Schvaneveldt      Roman Figueroa  $50,000
1995  Ima Thinking Cash  Dean Guymon  Keith Bennett  Kelly Wahlen  $50,000 
1994  Kczartessa  David L. Bradshaw  John Bassett  Kenneth Hart  $50,000 
1993  Signaway  Michael Taylor  Stacy Charette  Richard Vaughn  $55,000 

Fastest Time

Year      Winner                  Track          Time / Speed Index 
2008 Honor Me Good Evangeline Downs      :17.462 / 108 

Highest Speed Index

Year      Winner                  Track          Time / Speed Index 
2008 Honor Me Good Evangeline Downs      :17.462 / 108 

Highest Win Payoff

Year      Winner                  Track          Odds to $1      $2 Win Price
2003 Heza Cash Request         Los Alamitos          12.8  $27.60

Lowest Win Payoff

Year      Winner                  Track          Odds to $1      $2 Win Price
2008 Honor Me Good         Evangeline Downs          $4.00