History and By-laws

AQHYA History

Perhaps there is no other area in the American Quarter Horse Association addressed with greater passion and attention than the development of its youth program and the American Quarter Horse Youth Association. Formerly known as the American Junior Quarter Horse Association, the youth association held its first meeting in August 1970 in Amarillo, Texas. AQHYA began with 3,000 Members and even at the beginning of its history had an international following with representatives from Australia and Canada attending the first meeting. Today, AQHYA boasts a membership of more than 30,000 young people, including Members from The United States, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Asia and South America.

AQHYA is the largest, single-breed youth association in the world and provides a variety of programs to youth 18-and-under which encourage participation with the American Quarter Horse breed. The Association continues to be the leader in youth developmental programs, as evidenced by other breed associations which have taken these same concepts and made them available to young people in other organizations.

Each year in August, AQHYA competitors and their families converge on Oklahoma City, for the annual AQHYA World Championship Show. The pinnacle event for AQHYA competitors, this invitational event draws more than 1,800 youth from across the United States and around the globe, making it the largest horse show in the world devoted exclusively to youth.


Region 1: Alaska, British Colombia, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Region 2: Alberta, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Wyoming

Region 3: Illinois, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Missouri, Wisconsin 

Region 4: Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Ontario, West Virginia

Region 5: Deleware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia 

Region 6: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Quebec, Vermont

Region 7: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Utah

Region 8: Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 9 Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee  

Region 10:  Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina

Region 11: All international affiliates