Los Al Sets Another Pick 4 Record

Wager continues to grow in popularity.

May 20, 2012

Los Alamitos

The excitement of I’ll Have Another’s Preakness Stakes victory and a Pick 6 Carryover at Los Alamitos of more than $119,000 helped drive the track’s early Pick 4 handle to a near all-time record level on Saturday at the Orange County oval.

The early Pick 4 pool of $154,940 was $840 shy from the record figure at Los Alamitos of $155,780 set on February 12. The pool was a still the highest ever for a Saturday program at Los Alamitos and when added with the $103,188 pool in the Late Pick 4 the combined total was the third-highest for a single night.

This has been a banner year for the popular Pick 4 at Los Alamitos. Eight out of the 10 highest Pick 4 pools ever here have been recorded this year. Los Alamitos offers two Pick Fours each racing night. The early Pick Fours consist of races one through four. The late Pick Fours consist of the final four races on the card. The racing action continues at Los Alamitos on Sunday. For more information on the Los Alamitos guaranteed early Pick Fours, please call 714-820-2690. To view free handicapping tips and Pick Four selections, just visit www.losalamitos.com and click on the handicapping link.

Los Alamitos' Highest All-Time Pools in the Early Pick 4

1. Sunday, February 12, 2012...$155,780
2. Saturday, May 19, 2012...$154,940
3. Sunday, May 22, 2011...$154,352
4. Sunday, May 6, 2012...$153,439
5. Sunday, April 22, 2012...$148,371
6. Sunday, March 4, 2012...$146,941
7. Sunday, April 15, 2012...$143,432
8. Saturday, May 5, 2012...$139,982
9. Saturday, May 21, 2011...$138,391
10. Friday, April 13, 2012...$138,368