The AQHA office is closed Thursday, December 25, Friday, December 26, and Thursday, January 1.

Indiana Grand Announces Stakes Schedule

A total of 17 stakes will be offered for American Quarter Horses.

Press Release
April 20, 2014

Generic Racing Photo

The Indiana Grand meet is set to begin May 6.

Indiana Grand Racing & Casino, formerly known as Indiana Downs, is stepping into a new light in the horse racing industry. Beginning Tuesday, May 6, the facility located in Shelbyville, Indiana, will race under a new name, logo and color scheme featuring shades of gold for the 120 day Thoroughbred and American Quarter Horse meet. In those 120 days, more than $1.5 million available for Quarter Horse stakes.

A total of 17 Quarter Horse stakes, mostly for Indiana-breds, will take place throughout the season with six days dedicated solely to the sprinters. Among those days, nine stakes will boast a purse of $100,000 or higher with the featured events including the $150,000-added Gordon Mobley Futurity (R) and the $150,000-added Miss Roxie Little Futurity (R) set for Saturday, October 25. Other major stakes include the $100,000-added Born Runner Classic (R) on Saturday, June 14, the $100,000-added Blue River Derby (R) and the $100,000-added Jaguar Rocket Stakes (R) set for Saturday, July 26, the $100,000-added QHRAI Stallion Service Auction Futurity (R) set for Saturday, September 13, and a trio of events set for Saturday, October 25 with the $50,000-added Governor’s Stakes, the $50,000 QHRAI Derby and the $100,000-added Sterlie Bertram Memorial (R).

Days reserved for all Quarter Horse racing include Friday, May 30, Saturday, July 5, Saturday, July 26, Saturday, August 30, Friday, October 10 and Saturday, October 26. All other Quarter Horse races are held at the conclusion of the Thoroughbred races on specified days.

Indiana Grand Racing & Casino will offer four days of racing May 6 through November 1, 2014, adding Thursday racing July 17. Racing begins at 2:05 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday with a 5:05 p.m. post Friday and Saturday. For more information, please visit www.indianagrand.com and click on the racing tab at the top of the homepage.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information,
follow @AQHARacing on Twitter, watch the AQHA Racing Newscast and visit www.aqharacing.com.