Distaff Championship

Challenge | Derby | Juvenile | Distaff | Distance | Starter Allowance | Complete History

2013 Winner - Check N Fetch

Check Him Out-Shyann La Jolla by Streakin L Jolla
Owner - Lorena Velasquez Rodriguez
Trainer - Paul Jones
Jockey - Ramon Sanchez
Time - :19.689 (SI-88)

Check N Fetch Tops Jones Exacta in Merial Challenge

Check N Fetch made her case as the top mare in the country with a victory in the $100,000 Merial Distaff Challenge Championship (G1) on Saturday at Los Alamitos to give trainer Paul Jones a sweep of the exacta. Under jockey Ramon Sanchez, Check N Fetch earned her second straight Grade 1 win as she prevailed by a nose over stablemate Thisfeatureisspecial.

Owned by Lorena Velazquez Rodriguez and bred in California by Mr. and Mrs. L. Judd Morse, Check N Fetch ran the 400 yards in :19.689 and earned $46,000 for the win. This marked the 5-year-old mare’s sixth win in 10 starts this year and fifth against stakes company, adding to her wins in the Mildred N. Vessels Memorial Handicap (G1), Miss Princess Handicap (G3), California Breeders’ Matron Stakes (RG3) and Independence Day Handicap. She was actually defeated by Thisfeatureisspecial in the Merial Los Alamitos Distaff Challenge (G3) but turned the tables on that one for the big money. Check N Fetch, by Check Him Out, has now earned a total of $235,812 in her career.

Mauro Eli Zaborowsky’s Thisfeatureisspecial, a 6-year-old daughter of Feature Mr Jess who finished second in the Charger Bar Handicap (G2) and a close fourth behind Check N Fetch in the Mildred Vessels, put in a strong effort to finish second. Shez Jess Toxic, who runs for her breeder and trainer Dean Frey, closed to take third.

Stakes History

Year     Winner              Owner          Trainer          Jockey          Purse         
Check N Fetch
Lorena Velsquez Rodriguez
Paul Jones
Ramon Sanchez
Fredaville Robert Gentry
Cody Joiner
G.R. Carter Jr.
2011 Sheza Bad Habit Alvin Jonas Bret Vickery Rodrigo Aceves $125,000
2010 Spit Curl Diva Thomas Lepic Jody Brown David Brown $125,000
2009  Stylish Jess BR          Benny Rossett          Paul Jones  Ramon Sanchez      $125,000 
2008  Snow Burn  Horton Racing LLC  Don Mourning      Tad Leggett  $125,000 
2007  Blazin Fire  Lisa and Dan McMahon      Paul Jones  Cody Jensen  $100,000 
2006  Eye Caughtcha Peekin      Randee Fagan Dwayne Gilbreath      Jose Alvarez  $100,000 
2005  Texas Chatterbox  William Orr, Jr.  Paul Jones  John Hamilton  $100,000 
2004  Sixy Thru Traffic  Eusevio Huitron  Bobby Martinez  Rodrigo Vallejo  $100,000 
2003  Royaltime Classic  Jose and Victor Diaz  John Bassett  Jerry Lee Yoakum  $100,000 
2002  Lady Tenaya  Robert Hart  Robert Dunkle  Larry Payne  $75,000 
2001  Fast For Money  Jerry Windham  Edward Hardy  Tad Leggett  $75,000 
2000 Kool Kue Baby Ramiro Lopez Steve VanBebber Gilbert Ortiz $75,000

Fastest Time

Year    Horse                            Track                            Time / Speed Index 
2009  Stylish Jess BR  Los Alamitos  :19.363 / 98 

Highest Speed Index

Year    Horse                            Track                            Time / Speed Index 
2002  Lady Tenaya Lone Star Park at Grande Prairie      :19.610 / 101 

Highest Win Payoff

Year    Horse                            Track                            Odds to $1     $2 Win Price
Texas Chatterbox
Los Alamitos  16.8  $35.60

Lowest Win Payoff

Year    Horse                            Track                            Odds to $1     $2 Win Price 
Fredaville Prairie Meadows