Collegiate Horse Judging Contest

Enter your judging team into the Merial AQHA World Championship Collegiate Horse Judging Contest.

Don Falcon shows at judging contest.The World Championship title is up for grabs at the American Quarter Horse World Championship Show. It’s your chance to have your judging team take home the gold!

The Merial AQHA World Championship Collegiate Horse Judging Contest is November, 2013. The deadline to enter is October 15, 2013.

Not only the title of the “World Champion Collegiate Horse Judging Team” but also thousands of dollars in scholarships will be awarded to the top three teams in each division! This exciting event is sponsored by AQHA Corporate Partner Merial.

Here are some additional points to remember:

  • A current AQHA Membership is now required to compete in the contest.  We are offering an annual membership fee of $40 for all contestants who need to purchase a membership.  Please see attached form.
  • Only complete entry forms will be accepted. Last minute changes can be made at the coaches meeting.
  • Entry fee for contest is $125 per team.
  • Entry fee for an individual in Junior and Senior College or Limited Division is $25.
  • You may fax your entries by October 19th to (806) 349-6412 Attn: Sarah Smiddy.
  • Pick up your admission packet at the Horse Show Office which will include badges for team members and coaches who pre-registered (additional badges can be purchased at the Horse Show Office). The Horse Show Office is located in the Superbarn, next to the “Gateway of Champions.”

Contest Information:

  • team eligibility 
  • entries
  • coaches 
  • awards
  • tentative schedule.

Scholarship Awards

The American Quarter Horse Association will provide scholarship funding to the college or university of the World Champion Team, Reserve World Champion Team and Third-place teams in the junior and senior college divisions at the AQHA World Championship Collegiate Judging Contest. The award amounts listed below are for each division:

  • World Champion Team: $2,000
  • Reserve World Champion Team: $1,250
  • Third-place team: $750

The scholarships will be awarded to the school in the name of the winning judging teams. The only qualification for these scholarships is as follows:

Such scholarship funds will be awarded to the respective colleges and universities on the condition that these funds are used exclusively for the education of a student or students in your college or university’s animal science department or equine-related fields which are selected by the college or university, its scholarship organization, its professional livestock or equine interest fraternity or association, or faculty advisor of such organization.

If you have any questions at all, please contact Todd Branson at tbranson@aqha.org. We look forward to seeing you in Oklahoma City!